Farchant

Farchant near the Zugspitze welcomes you!

In the heart of the ZugspitzLand region in Bavaria, clocks tick slower than elsewhere! That leaves more time to cultivate traditions.

The pretty charming village is located on the shores of the beautiful Loisach River, near the famous vacation resort of Garmisch-Partenkirchen. The Farchant “Gästekarte” (Tourist Pass) makes numerous services in Garmisch-Partenkirchen available to you, and even permits you to travel there free of charge in just a few minutes.

Summertime & sunshine
A leisurely hike or bike ride through the enchanting Zugspitzland region, a hearty Brotzeit snack in a beer garden or a leisurely day at the Warmfreibad Farchant pool – take your pick!

The water temperature in Farchant’s heated outdoor pool is perfect from mid-May to mid-September! Cool enough to refresh and warm enough to splash around to your heart’s delight. There is ample room for everyone on the spacious lawn with a magnificent panoramic view of the mountains and sunshine till the late hours of evening. Your young ones can romp and play on the creative playground, the 43 m (141 ft.) long super water slide and the beach volleyball court.

The Woodland Experience Trail (Walderlebnispfad) and the Kuhflucht Waterfalls offer children and nature lovers unforgettable views and information. With three cascades, the water plunges into the depths from a height of around 270 meters. Spectacular – the Kuhflucht waterfalls are among the highest in all of Germany..

Winter & snow
The cold season comes with its own special attractions: Surrounded by tranquil snow-covered fields, breathe in the fresh, crisp air, and instantly leave behind everyday worries. Wintertime in Farchant has so many different many different faces!

Come and explore the ski areas with the most reliable snow cover in Germany! Enjoy memorable days of winter sports, carving turns at the “Am Ried” ski lift in Farchant or on the slopes over Garmisch-Partenkirchen, always surrounded by an awesome mountain panorama. Both young and old can sled their hearts out on the sled run right next to the “Am Ried” ski slope. Whizzing downhill on a sled is always a blast. The run is approx. 250 meters long and also safe for young children.

If you enjoy hiking through nature in the summertime, you will love the awesome winter landscapes of the Zugspitze Region. At this time of year, hiking is even more peaceful and relaxing than in other seasons. The snow crunches under your boots, the air is crisp and clear.

No matter whether you are trying out cross-country skiing for the first time or are already a skilled Nordic skier, you will find ideal conditions and the right tracks in Farchant. The longest loop covering 33 kilometers follows the Loisach River and takes you from Farchant to Oberau and Eschenlohe, and then back to Farchant.

Event highlights
Music, culture or sports: Thanks to a varied program including events for every taste and age, there is always something going on somewhere in the Zugspitze Region.

In Farchant, you can look forward to numerous guided hikes in addition to concerts by the local band, comical Bauerntheater (farmers' theater) performances and forest fests with Bavarian Schuhplattler dancing.

Just a few kilometers away in Garmisch-Partenkirchen, the AlpenTestival, the Motorrad Days, the traditional Fest Weeks, the annual New Year's Ski Jumping Event and other popular events attract thousands of visitors to the Zugspitzland region every year.

With a varied program including events for every taste and age, there is always something going on somewhere here.

Customs
In Farchant, traditions and customs are present everywhere and in every season. Music, dance, and theater are just as much a part of life in the Zugspitze Region as apples in apple pie. Ceremonious processions through spring meadows in bloom, colorful bouquets for the Consecration of Herbs, the boisterous antics of the Maschkera in their hand-carved masks during Carnival, merry Forest Fests with brass music, dancing and traditional Tracht attire: experience the Bavarian joy of living firsthand!

Places to see around the Zugspitze
The town of Farchant enjoys a central, but wonderfully peaceful location. Garmisch-Partenkirchen is just a few kilometers away, and Munich and Innsbruck are within easy reach as well.
Visitors have the agony of choice when it comes to excursions: How about a ride to the top of the Zugspitze in the cogwheel train or the new awe-inspiring cable car, a walk through the Partnachklamm gorge or a visit to one of the numerous churches and monasteries or one of King Ludwig II's famous castles, Schloss Linderhof or Neuschwanstein? Or you may choose to take a mountain cable car up one of the other numerous peaks to enjoy impressive panoramic views or visit a Heimatmuseum (“homeland museum”) and learn about regional history.

Just the right place, be it in spring, summer, fall, or winter! You are always welcome in Farchant in the Bavarian ZugspitzLand region where you can discover your favorite highlights in every season.

www.farchant.de

Farchant

Farchant an der Zugspitze begrüßt Sie recht herzlich!

Inmitten des bayerischen ZugspitzLandes geht es ein wenig gemütlicher zu als anderswo. Aber das Brauchtum ist dafür umso lebendiger.
Das schöne idyllische Dorf ist an der wunderschönen Loisach gelegen und liegt kurz vor der berühmten Urlaubsdestination Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Mit der Farchanter Gästekarte können Sie auch dort zahlreiche Leistungen nutzen und fahren sogar in wenigen Minuten kostenlos nach Garmisch-Partenkirchen.

Sommer & Sonnenschein
Ob beim gemütlichen Wandern, Radfahren durch´s ZugspitzLandes, einer zünftigen Brotzeit im Biergarten oder einem entspannten Badetag im Freibad – worauf haben Sie Lust?
Von Mitte Mai bis Mitte September ist im Farchanter Warmfreibad das Wasser genau richtig! Kühl genug um zu erfrischen und warm genug, um ausgiebig zu planschen. Auf der großen Liegewiese mit herrlichem Panoramablick ist genug Platz für alle und Sonne bis in die späten Abendstunden. Auch für die Kleinen, die sich auf dem kreativen Spielplatz, der 43 Meter langen Gaudi-Rutsche oder dem Beachvolleyballplatz austoben können, ist jede Menge geboten.
Für Kinder und Naturliebhaber bieten der Walderlebnispfad und die Kuhfluchtwasserfälle unvergessliche Ein- und Ausblicke. Aus drei Fallstufen mit ca. 270 m Höhe stürzt das Wasser in die Tiefe. Beeindruckend – die Kuhfluchtwasserfälle gehören zu den höchsten in ganz Deutschland.

Winter & Schnee
Die stille Jahreszeit hat ihre besonderen Reize. Die Ruhe im verschneiten Zugspitzland und die frische Luft lassen den Alltagsstress schnell vergessen. Der Winter in Farchant hat viele Facetten!
Seien Sie aktiv in den schneesichersten Skigebieten Deutschlands! Ziehen Sie Ihre Schwünge am Farchanter Skilift „Am Ried“ oder vor dem gewaltigen Bergpanorama oberhalb von Garmisch-Partenkirchen und erleben Sie unvergessliche Wintersporttage. Gleich neben dem Skihang "Am Ried" finden auch die Schlitten- und Rodelfans ihre Bahn. Es ist immer eine Riesengaudi, mit dem Schlitten talwärts zu sausen. Die Rodelbahn ist ca. 250 Meter lang und auch für die Kleinen ungefährlich.
Wenn Sie im Sommer die Natur gerne beim Wandern genießen, werden Sie auch beim Winterwandern Ihre Freude haben. Im Winter ist das Wandern sogar noch ruhiger und entspannter. Der Schnee knirscht unter den Schuhen, die Luft ist klar und kalt.
Egal ob Sie sich das erste Mal auf Langlaufski bewegen oder schon geübt sind, in Farchant finden Sie mit einer einzigartigen Umgebung die idealen Voraussetzungen und die richtige Spur. Die längste Loipe, 33km lang, folgt dem Lauf der Loisach und führt von Farchant über Oberau nach Eschenlohe und zurück.

Veranstaltungshighlights
Egal ob Musik, Kultur oder Sport. In der Zugspitz-Region ist immer etwas los und das breitgefächerte Veranstaltungsprogramm hält für jeden etwas Passendes bereit.
In Farchant erwartet Sie neben den Konzerten der ortsansässigen Musikkapelle, Bauerntheatern oder Waldfesten mit Schuhplattlern, auch zahlreiche geführte Wanderungen uvm.
Im benachbarten Garmisch-Partenkirchen locken Events wie das AlpenTestival, die BMW-Motorrad-Days, traditionelle Festwochen, das Neujahrsskispringen und Weitere, jedes Jahr tausende Besucher ins ZugspitzLand.
Bei uns ist immer etwas los und das breitgefächerte Veranstaltungsprogramm hält für jeden etwas Passendes bereit!

Brauchtum
Tradition und Brauchtum sind in Farchant allgegenwärtig. Musik, Tanz und Theater gehören zum Leben in der Zugspitz-Region wie das Salz in der Suppe. Feierliche Prozessionen über blühende Frühlingswiesen, farbenfrohe Sträuße für die Kräuterweihe, ausgelassenes Maschkeratreiben, stimmungsvolle Waldfeste mit Blasmusik, Tanz und Trachten, all das ist Bayerische Lebenslust hautnah erlebbar.

Ausflugsziele rund um die Zugspitze
Farchant liegt ganz zentral und doch herrlich ruhig. Garmisch-Partenkirchen ist nur wenige Kilometer entfernt und auch nach Innsbruck und München ist es nicht weit.
Sie finden interessante Ausflugsmöglichkeiten: Wie wäre es mit einem Besuch der Zugspitze, Partnachklamm, einer der vielen Kirchen und Klöster, dem Schloss Linderhof oder Neuschwanstein? Oder nutzen Sie eine der zahlreichen umliegenden Bergbahnen und lernen die Geschichte der Region in einer der vielen Heimatmuseen näher kennen.

Egal ob Frühling, Sommer, Herbst oder Winter. In Farchant im bayerischen ZugspitzLand ist immer etwas geboten und Sie sind herzlich zu uns eingeladen!

www.farchant.de